Letter: LOST IN THE BELLY OF THE BEAST

Free Venice Beachhead

Dear Beachhead

LOST IN THE BELLY OF THE BEAST
-as told to Chee Wah Wah seagull-
written anonymously out of fear.

I was hanging out one evening by the pagoda on Dudley Avenue in Venice. The memorial photo of Shakespeare watched over us. He was gunned down there a week earlier by order of the millionaire owner of the Cadillac Hotel because he didn’t like homeless people in front of his properties.
Some young cops were walking along and someone cursed at them in Spanish. Maybe it was the ghost of dead Shakespeare. I was tackled and handcuffed. Our militarized Venice police came in force and began questioning and arresting everyone around the pagoda. They searched me and found a tiny bit of pot. I complained about my rights but this only infuriated the men in black. They said I’m a Mexican gang member. I tried to tell them I’m…

View original post 372 more words

Leave a Reply

